Club News‎ > ‎

Tain Club Hurling League Div 3 play off. Glenarm 4-16, Na Magha 3-10

posted 22 Apr 2013, 14:23 by

Tain club hurling league Div 3 play off. Glenarm 4-16, Na Magha 3-10.

A bright, blowy afternoon  in Rasharkin,, Glenarm playing with the breeze first half, and they certainly took advantage. Inside the first minute Barry Hamill fired low to the net, a point one minute later from Hugh-Pat McNeill and a goal by Darren Hamill sixty seconds after that gave the blues a lead they never gave up. The Derry men got the next score of the game on ten mins followed soon by a wonderful point from a forty yard sideline by Blain Mcdermott. Alan Furlong lobbed a goal for Na Magha on the quarter mark, but that goal was immediately cancelled out by a crafty flick from the wiley old stick of Connor McNeill. Points from Darren Hamill, Declan, Brendan, and Blaine McDermott gave a h/t score 3-7, 1-3.  Second half began brightly for the boys in green with points on one, two, and five mins closing the gap, Glenarm then out-scored their opponents over a twelve min period by eight pts to four. Goals from T. Douban 25 min, and D. Foley 28 min for the city men gave them a glimmer of hope, only to be snubbed out by a goal on 30 min Liam O`Neill. f/t 4-16, 3-10.

                                              Paudraig McDermott was voted man-of-the-match, while best for the losers was Alan Grant.

  Glenarm team;

                          Michael Abram, Bernard Campbell, Kevin Cottrell, Liam Mulvenna, Ciaran Campbell, Paul Abram, Padraig McDermott, Brendan McDermott, Christopher Matthews, Darren Hamill, Blain McDermott, Hugh-Pat McNeill, Connor McNeill, Barry Hamill, Declan McDermott.

Subs used; Liam O`Neill, Patrick McAuley, Jake Hamilton, Gerard Johnston.

Subs;Connor Bell, Ryan Daly, Rory Mulvenna, Mark McNeill,  Aidan O`Neill, Darryl McMullan, Niall Hamill

                                     Scorers; Darren Hamill 1-5

                                                   Connor McNeill 1-1

                                                   Barry Hamill      1-0

                                                  Liam O`Neill       1-0

                                                  Blaine McDermott 0-4

                                                  Brendan McDermott 0-3

                                                  Hugh-Pat McNeill   0-1

                                                 Chrissy Matthews 0-1

                                                 Declan McDermott 0-1.